

# Minutes Extraordinary Meeting of Council 10 October 2024, 7:00 PM

All minutes are subject to confirmation at a subsequent meeting and may be amended by resolution at that meeting.

#### Extraordinary Meeting of Council 10 October 2024 MINUTES

**PRESENT**: Councillor Bennison, Councillor Bryla, Councillor Flood, Councillor Greenwell, Councillor Kennedy, Councillor Little, Councillor Roenfeldt, Councillor Southwood and Councillor Taylor.

**ALSO PRESENT**: General Manager, Director - Corporate Services and Strategy, Director - Planning and Sustainability, Director - Community and Culture, Director - Open Spaces and Infrastructure and Minute Taker.

# OATH OR AFFIRMATION OF OFFICE BY COUNCILLORS

Under Section 233A of the *Local Government Act 1993*, all Councillors recited the following Oath/Affirmation of Office.

# <u>Oath</u>

I [name of Councillor] swear that I will undertake the duties of the office of Councillor in the best interests of the people of Lane Cove Local Government Area and the Lane Cove Municipal Council and that I will faithfully and impartially carry out the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in me under the Local Government Act 1993 or any other Act to the best of my ability and judgment.

## **Affirmation**

I [name of Councillor] solemnly and sincerely declare and affirm that I will undertake the duties of the office of Councillor in the best interests of the people of Lane Cove Local Government Area and the Lane Cove Municipal Council and that I will faithfully and impartially carry out the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in me under the Local Government Act 1993 or any other Act to the best of my ability and judgment.

Following the recitals each of the Councillors spoke in relation to their appointment as Councillor.

# DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST:

Nil

# APOLOGIES

Nil

# ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The General Manager gave an acknowledgement of Country.

# MINUTE OF SILENCE FOR REFLECTION OR PRAYER

The General Manager gave notice of a minute of silence for reflection or prayer.

# WEBCASTING OF COUNCIL MEETING

The General Manager advised those present that the Meeting was being webcast.

## **ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR**

- **<u>192</u> RESOLVED** on the motion moved by Councillor Bennison and seconded by Councillor Southwood that
  - 1. the election of the Deputy Mayor be for the period ending September 2025;
  - 2. the General Manager conduct the election of the Mayor for the period ending September 2026 and Deputy Mayor for the period ending September 2025; and
  - 3. the election is to proceed by the Open Voting method.

For the Motion were Councillors Bennison, Bryla, Flood, Greenwell, Kennedy, Little, Roenfeldt, Southwood and Taylor (Total 9).

Against the Motion was Nil (Total 0).

## **ELECTION OF MAYOR**

Council's General Manager, in the capacity of Returning Officer, advised that two valid nominations were received for the position of Mayor, one being Councillor Southwood and the other being Councillor Bennison.

Council's General Manager asked those Councillors who are in favour of Councillor Southwood to raise their hand.

Those in favour were Councillors Flood, Greenwell, Southwood, Kennedy and Bryla (Total 5).

Council's General Manager then asked those Councillors who are in favour of Councillor Bennison to raise their hand.

Those in favour were Councillors Bennison, Roenfeldt and Taylor (Total 3).

Councillor Little abstained from voting in the election.

Council's General Manager declared Councillor Southwood elected as Mayor.

#### **ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR**

Council's General Manager advised that one valid nomination was received for the position of Deputy Mayor, that being Councillor Kennedy.

As there was only one nomination, Council's General Manager declared Councillor Kennedy elected as Deputy Mayor, unopposed.

#### ADJOURNMENT

The General Manager adjourned the meeting at 7.23pm

#### RESUMPTION

The Meeting resumed at 7.42pm.

The Mayor assumed the Chair and Councillor Southwood addressed Council as the newly elected Mayor.

## COUNTBACK ELECTION FOR COUNCILLOR VACANCY WITHIN THE NEXT 18 MONTHS.

**193 RESOLVED** on the motion moved by Councillor Bennison and seconded by Councillor Kennedy that Councill resolves to use a Countback Election should a Councillor vacancy occur within 18 months of the NSW Local Government Election that was held on 14 September 2024.

For the Motion were Councillors Bennison, Bryla, Flood, Greenwell, Kennedy, Little, Roenfeldt, Southwood and Taylor (Total 9).

Against the Motion was Nil (Total 0).

## **PUBLIC FORUMS - CODE OF MEETING PRACTICE**

## MOTION

A Motion was moved by Councillor Flood and seconded by Councillor Kennedy that Council, pursuant to clause 4.1 of the Code of Meeting Practice, returns the Public Forum to the same night and as part of the Council meeting (Thursday evenings).

## AMENDMENT

An Amendment was moved by Councillor Roenfeldt and seconded by Councillor Bennison that Council continues the practice of holding the Public Forum separately from the Council Meeting, in line with the OLG's Model Code of Meeting Practice, with the Public Forum taking place on the Monday evening prior to a Council Meeting.

Upon being put to the Meeting, the Amendment was declared lost.

For the Amendment were Councillors Bennison, Little, Roenfeldt and Taylor (Total 4). Against the Motion were Councillors Southwood, Bryla, Flood, Greenwell and Kennedy (Total 5).

**194** The Motion was put to the meeting, and was declared carried.

For the Motion were Councillors Southwood, Bryla, Flood, Greenwell and Kennedy (Total 5)

Against the Motion were Councillors Bennison, Little, Roenfeldt and Taylor (Total 4).

## 2024 LOCAL GOVERNMENT NSW CONFERENCE ATTENDEES AND VOTING DELEGATES

- **<u>195</u> RESOLVED** on the motion moved by Councillor Roenfeldt and seconded by Councillor Kennedy that Council:-
  - 1. authorise all interested Councillors to attend the LGNSW Annual Conference; and
  - 2. nominate Councillors Flood, Southwood, Taylor and Roenfeldt to be the four (4) voting delegates for motions before the LGNSW Annual Conference.

For the Motion were Councillors Bennison, Bryla, Flood, Greenwell, Kennedy, Little, Roenfeldt, Southwood and Taylor (Total 9).

Against the Motion was Nil (Total 0).

The meeting closed at 8.01pm

Confirmed at the Ordinary Council Meeting of 24 October 2024, at which meeting the signature herein is subscribed.

This is page no. 4 of Lane Cove Council's Extraordinary Meeting of Council Meeting Minutes held on 10 October 2024.

MAYOR

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\* END OF MINUTES \*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*